Our team

The Penobscot River Estuary Research Project is made possible by a collaboration within NOAA Fisheries Northeast Fisheries Science Center, Greater Atlantic Regional Fisheries Office, and the Maine Sea Grant Program. Team members include:

Rory Saunders, NOAA – GARFO

Justin Stevens, Maine Sea Grant

J Micheal Jech, NOAA-NEFSC

John Kocik, NOAA-NEFSC

Tim Sheehan, NOAA-NEFSC

From the early stages, the project has evolved through collaborations with various scientists at institutions such as:

Damian Brady, The University of Maine 

Carrie J. Byron, University of New England

Kristina Cammen, University of Maine

Dan Kusnierz, Penobscot Indian Nation

Karen Wilson, University of Southern Maine

Gayle Zydlewski, University of Maine/Maine Sea Grant

In addition, this project has contributed to 7 post-doctoral or graduate students

Rachel Lasley-Rasher, 2013

Gregory Labonte, 2014

Amy Webb, 2015

Kevin Job, 2017

Eric Chapman, 2017

Lauri Leach, 2019

Erin Ambrose, 2020

Julia Sunnarborg, 2021

and dozens of undergraduate students through invaluable contributions toward fieldwork.