Current Projects

DV-16-24 Engaging shellfish stakeholders in assessing ribbon worm damage and identifying solutions Catherine Schmitt Tue, 01/31/2017 - 10:39

Monique Coombs
Maine Coast Fishermen’s Association
monique@mainecoastfishermen.org

Shellfish landings are a significant contributor to Maine’s economy: in 2015, the value of landings from clams, mussels, and oysters was more than $29 million dollars according to the Maine Department of Marine Resources. This value could be even higher if we addressed threats to the resource, such as the predatory milky ribbon worm.

DV-16-23 The Coastal Science Academy Catherine Schmitt Tue, 01/31/2017 - 10:30

Colleen Haskell
Downeast Institute
chaskell@downeastinstitute.org

DV-16-22 Student shellfish aquaculture and ecological monitoring initiative Catherine Schmitt Tue, 01/31/2017 - 10:27

Andrew McCullough
Brunswick High School
amccullough@brunswick.k12.me.us

E-16 Arctic surf clam: A new candidate species to diversify and advance sustainable domestic aquaculture in Maine and the Northeast U.S. Catherine Schmitt Mon, 11/07/2016 - 15:15

Brian Beal
Downeast Institute for Applied Marine Research & Education
University of Maine at Machias

DV-16-09 Downeast Whale Watch Training Program Catherine Schmitt Tue, 10/25/2016 - 10:58

Tanya Lubansky
Allied Whale and Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company   
tlubansky@unity.edu

DV-16-14 International Network on Offshore Renewable Energy Symposium Catherine Schmitt Tue, 10/25/2016 - 10:55

Haley Viehman                  
University of Maine
haley.viehman@maine.edu

DV-16-11 Northern Maine Children’s Water Festival Catherine Schmitt Tue, 10/25/2016 - 10:53

Ruth Hallsworth
Senator George J. Mitchell Center
University of Maine
hallsworth@maine.edu

DV-16-04 The 45th Benthic Ecology Meeting Catherine Schmitt Tue, 10/25/2016 - 10:51

David Carlon
Bowdoin College
dcarlon@bowdoin.edu

DV-16-07 Northeastern Coastal Station Alliance intertidal temperature monitoring proof of concept: What can Tidbit data loggers tell us about coordination and collaboration? Catherine Schmitt Wed, 09/14/2016 - 08:35

Hannah Webber
Schoodic Institute
hwebber@schoodicinstitute.org

Caitlin Cleaver
Hurricane Island Foundation
caitlin@hurricanisland.net

 

Recently, small field stations spanning the Gulf of Maine formed the Northeastern Coastal Stations Alliance (NeCSA) in order to leverage the potential for collaborative data collection and data sharing across the stations, and to enhance training opportunities and public outreach to communicate the implications of environmental change in the Gulf of Maine.  

DV-16-01 Sea-level rise adaptation in New England marshes Catherine Schmitt Wed, 09/14/2016 - 08:33

Lucille Zipf
Boston University
lzipf@bu.edu