The Beaches Conference

The Beaches Conference logoSave the date for the next Beaches Conference; note we will be meeting one month earlier!

Kittery Community Center

The Beaches Conference works to provide continuing opportunities for exchange of the most current information among beach and coastal stakeholders with diverse interests, and to present the findings from Maine and New Hampshire beach monitoring programs.

Conference Themes

  • What makes for a healthy beach system?
  • Implementing coastal projects to support people and environment
  • What's in the water? (i.e. bacteria, toxic contaminants, stormwater, etc.)
  • Coastal regulation for municipalities
  • Impacts of marine plastics and litter
  • Harvesting from the sea: interactions with other uses
  • What's happening with marine animals?
  • Planning for climate uncertainty using the best science
  • Public participation in coastal science
  • Coastal access for multiple uses
  • The culture, history, and economics of our beaches
  • Flooding, Erosion, and Storms: preparing and responding



2019 Steering Committee Members

Deb Bourbeau, NH coastal property owner
Gayle Bowness, Gulf of Maine Research Institute
Gabby Bradt, NH Sea Grant (+ Alyson Eberhadt)
Laura Diemer, FB Environmental
Bob Furman, Beach Profiler and ME coastal property owner
Kirsten Howard, NH Coastal Program
Ruth Indrick, Kennebec Estuary Land Trust
Jessa Kellogg, Town of Kittery
Abigail Lyon, Piscataqua Region Estuary Partnership
Elizabeth Michel - Surfrider Northern New England
Janet Parker, ME Floodplain Management
Marybeth Richardson and Meagan Sims, ME Dept. of Environmental Protection
Rob Roseen, Waterstone Engineering
Abbie Sherwin, Southern Maine Planning and Development Commission
Pete Slovinsky, ME Geological Survey

Communications Committee Members

Vidya Balasubramanyam, NH Coastal Program
Alison Knab, Great Bay Stewards

2019 Planning Committee Members

Nik Charov, Budget and Fundraising Chair, Laudholm Trust
Annie Cox, Wells National Estuarine Research Reserve Coastal Training Program
Kristen Grant, Program Chair, Maine Sea Grant UM Cooperative Extension
Steve Miller, Budget and Fundraising Co-chair, Great Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve Coastal Training Program
Kathy Tenga-Gonzalez, Communications Chair, Maine Sea Grant